Sunday, July 15, 2012

WWE Women's Championship

The inaugural champion was The Fabulous Moolah who defeated Judy Grable in September 1956 and she by far had the longest official reign by holding it for 27 years, 10 months, 5 days, or a total of 10,170 days. 

Trish Stratus has had more reigns than anyone else, with seven. Mickie James has the shortest reign. While in Paris on April 24, 2007, James defeated then-champion Melina and Victoria in a Triple Threat Match. However, Jonathan Coachman, the Acting General Manager for Raw said that since Mickie pinned Victoria, Melina deserved an immediate rematch which she won by having her feet on the ropes.

The Fabulous Moolah, Trish Stratus, Lita, and Mickie James are the only divas who have won the WWE Womens Championship four or more times.

Layla (officially) was the final champion after she defeated Beth Phoenix in a two-on-one handicap match, on the May 11, 2010 taping of SmackDown, which aired on May 14. 

Overall, there have been a total of 29 recognized champions with 59 official WWE Women's Championship reigns combined.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts